person_pin Okey Onwuka
query_builder December 6, 2019 16:45:18


By Rita Okonkwo :

Nkpor (Idemili North LGA), Dec. 5, 2019 (MOI Traders of New Tyre Market, Nkpor have elected a new Executive Committee to pilot its affairs.

The elected are President, Okey Atueyi; Vice-President, Onyeka Ezeokoli; Secretary, Ifeabunike Ethelbert; Assistant Secretary, Akulasa Kenneth Madu and Treasurer, Romanus C Umeh.

Others are Financial Secretary, Ezeudu Chukwudi Samuel, PRO, Stanley Okpala; Provost, John C Maduka and Provost 2, Nzekwe Callistus.

The election was held on Dec. 4 at New Tyre Market Hall, Nkpor.

Addressing the traders before the election, the Commissioner for Trade and Commerce, Mr Uchenna Charles Okafor enjoined the traders to make the right choice of leadership.

Okafor noted that Gov. Willie Obiano directed that traders in the state to always conduct `free and fair election’ in line with their association’s Constitution.

``The government has no interest in any candidate. The interest of the traders is the interest of the government. Let your choice prevail,’’ Okafor remarked.

The commissioner extolled peaceful and conducive market environment that had been existing in the market.

He urged the electoral committee to avoid any form of corruption, so as to ensure strict compliance to governor's directives.

In his acceptance speech, the new President, Mr Atueyi thanked Government for their good works. (MOI)