By Chukwudi Nwauba

Awka, March 5, 2021 (MOI) Anambra State Government is partnering with the European Union (EU), World Health Organisation (EU/WHO), to hold a one-day Healthcare Financing (HCF), Technical Working Group (TWG) meeting.

Commissioner for Health, Dr. Vincent Okpala in his opening remarks commended Gov. Willie Obiano for creating an enabling environment for EU/WHO continued partnership in the health sector of the state.

Dr Okpala affirmed that the Technical Working Group Meeting was crucial and maintained that success of the state in the health sector depended on the positive outcome of the meeting.

He explained that continued partnership with the EU/WHO in Health System Strengthening (HSS) had been a huge success in the health sector in the state.

The commissioner explained that the Healthcare Financing Unit was a sub unit under the Planning Research, Statistics Department in the Ministry.

He, however, admonished members to contribute meaningfully in order to achieve a Universal Health Coverage through the TWG meeting in the state.

“We inform decision through this meeting, so we need to work as a team, advice appropriately as the technical team of HCF.’’

The commissioner was represented at the meeting by the Permanent Secretary, Mr Linus Nwankwo, who is also the state TWG Chairman.

Director, Planning, Research and Statistics, Mrs Edith Nwachukwu said, “the TWG is part of health care financing with the aim of evaluating its achievements, mapping out roles expected of the committee and proffering solutions to areas calling for improvement’’.

Mrs Nwachukwu explained that healthcare financing was a reform in the health sector under the health system strengthening, supported by the EU and implemented by WHO.

“We are here as a technical working group, and we are here to look at how far the group has gone.

“We are to look at the roles expected and bring a way forward to issues, we have already set up sub-committees who will explore some key areas and give us feedback.’’

The Technical Working Group is made up of the Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Health who resides as the Chairman, Executive secretaries of the State Primary Healthcare Development Agency and Health Insurance Agency. Others are, State Ministry of Economic Planning and Budget, Accountant General, Academia, Auditor General Office and Civil Society Organisations. (MOI)

Comments are closed.

Close Search Window