By Obiageli Nwankwo  :

Awka, Feb. 9, 2021 (MOI) Basic Education Commissioner, Prof. Kate Omenugha has received a Pan African Leadership Award from African Students Union Parliament (ASUP).

The award was conferred on Prof. Omenugha in her office at the Jerome Udoji Secretariat, Awka, by the leader of a 5-man delegation from ASUP, Mr Ozim Temple.

He noted that the award was decided after a close scrutiny by a body that found the commissioner, a worthy role-model for her effective service delivery and an outstanding Pan African.

She also possessed an unequalled commitment toward students and youths welfare.

In her reaction, the commissioner commended the union for the honour done to her, saying that she had always been an advocate of the rich cultural heritage of the Blackman. “I strive to instill pride for African heritage in every African that I come across’’.

Recalling her days as a PhD., student in the U.K., the commissioner said that passion for Africanism led to forming the African Students Association in her university, when she noticed there was no such association.

The association became a unifying force back then for the African students.

“My love for everything African has been brought to bear in my capacity as a commissioner with the adoption of various strategies to instill in my students, a sense of pride for our African ancestry’’.

While commending ASUP for their leadership, Prof. Omenugha pledged to support their campaign against drug abuse and cultism saying, “it is in line with Gov. Willie Obiano drive to eradicate such vices from our schools’’.

The ASUP is an umbrella body that covers all students within the 54 African Union (AU) recognised African countries with core objectives of encouraging corporation, harmonious co-existence among students from member states.

It is also for the purpose of student exchange programmes, encouragement of stakeholders and public office holders for the much needed peace, development and economic stability of the continent.

Present at the occasion was the Permanent Secretary of Basic Education, Dr Nwando Obiano and Heads of Department in the Ministry. (MOI)



Comments are closed.

Close Search Window