Newly installed Igwe Ihiala gets certificate of recognition from Anambra Government
person_pin Okey Onwuka
query_builder May 25, 2019 13:21:04

By John Ndu/Chinemelu Okafor

Amawbia (Awka South LGA), May 24, 2019 (MOI) Anambra State Government has presented a Certificate of Recognition to newly elected Traditional Ruler of Ihiala, Igwe Thomas Obidiegwu (Oluoha XVII and Clan Head of Ihiala Kingdom).

The presentation took place at the Governor's Lodge, Amawbia, Awka South Local Government Area (LGA).

Presenting the certificate, Gov. Willie Obiano urged Igwe Obidiegwu to see his traditional stool as a veritable opportunity to ensure peaceful co-existence among the people of his community.

He enjoined the traditional ruler to set up special committee that would check activities of the youths, to curtail crime and criminality.

The governor said he would not hesitate to call his attention, whenever there was any issue in Ihiala as he would always be there for Ihiala people, whenever they needed his attention.

Commissioner for Local Government and Chieftaincy Matter, Mr Greg Obi during the presentation said that the event was a continuation of Gov. Obiano's excellent leadership style.

He explained that the community had been torn apart by leadership crises since the demise of their late king two years ago.

``This has prompted the Anambra Government to set up a panel to look into the matter and make recommendations on way forward in line with the customs and traditions of the people.’’

The traditional ruler of Onitsha, Igwe Nn’emeka Achebe, also chairman of Anambra State Traditional Rulers’ Council an admonition, stressed the need for people of the community to rally round their head to enable him to succeed.

In his response, Igwe Obidiegwu assured that he would lead his people with `the fear of God’.

The event had various traditional rulers across the state in attendance, including Igwe S I Okafor of Okpuno, Igwe Anukwu of Mbaukwu and Igwe Rowland Odegbo of Nteje.

Others are Igwe Peter Uyanwa of Ukwulu, Igwe Emmanuel Nnabuife of Iseke and Igwe Chukwuemeka Ilouno of Ifitedunu. (MOI)