person_pin Okey Onwuka
query_builder January 14, 2020 14:54:39


By Okoli Sunday :

Awka, Jan. 14, 2020 (MOI) An 8-Member Committee has been inaugurated to articulate a work plan for the Information Department of the Ministry of Information and Public Enlightenment for 2020 to 2021.

The inauguration, which took place during Editorial Board Meeting of the Ministry, was carried out by Acting Director of Information Department, Mr Anthony Nweke.

He gave the committee a 2-week deadline to come up with their recommendation.

According to him, the terms of reference of the committee will include a review of existing capital estimate as it concerns the Department of Information of the Ministry, liaising with relevant stakeholders with a view to getting their policy trust for the year under review as well as align it with the vision and mission of the State Government.

They are also to review existing performance level of information officers, in order to identify and recommend any other assignments

In addition, Mr Nweke said that the committee will among other things determine long, medium and short term plans for the department as this has become necessary in order to work in line with the vision and mission of the present Government.

According to Mr Nweke, I want the unit more than ever before, be relevant by demonstrating commitment toward its mandate in exploring opportunities at inundating Ndi Anambra with the right information, such that fake and unverifiable news will become irrelevant.

``I have carefully chosen members from the relevant sectors – senior members of the editorial board, representatives from Ministries, Departments and Agencies as well as representatives from Local Government sectors.’’

The Committee has Mr Uzoma Ekweaga, a top Officer in the Ministry as its Chairman; to be assisted by Mrs Chinyere Ogbuagu as Vice-Chairman.

Mrs Grace Onwukwe would serve as Secretary, while Mr Okoli Sunday will function as the Assistant Secretary.

Other members of the committee are Mrs Regina Igwebuike, Mrs Judith Anigbogu, Rev. Uzo Ugwunze and Mr David Okpala.

In his acceptance speech, Chairman of the committee Mr Ekweaga thanked the department for finding the committee members worthy to serve.

``We shall strive to come out with the best results with strict adherence to terms and references given to us.’’ (MOI)