person_pin Okey Onwuka
query_builder April 18, 2019 17:10:17


By Frances Nwabufoe

Onitsha, April 18, 2019 (MOI) Anambra State Internal Revenue Service (ASIRS) has commenced quarterly review meetings, aimed at reviewing the performances of Tax officers in various Tax offices across the state.

All tax offices have been grouped under the three Senatorial zones of the state – North, Central and South.

The first meeting that commenced on April 16 was a review of performances of Anambra North, held at Anambra North Senatorial Zonal Tax Office, Onitsha.

The exercise termed, ``Business Review Meeting’’, carried out quarterly in the three Senatorial zones to review the performances of the office and staff set essentially, at evaluating their monthly targets.

Chairman ASIRS, Dr David Nzekwu explained that tax collection was result-oriented service, and that team leadership was service-oriented; tax officers should put in their best for positive results.

``Every person should understand that revenue is authority. Tax officers should utilise that authority to get taxpayers to pay.

``Anyone who fails to pay after being assessed should be referred to the Legal Department for prosecution,’’ he stressed.

He re-assured them to go out and work, as anyone assaulting tax officers would be dealt with according to the law.

Head, Assessment and Collection Department, Mr Herbert Ofomata added that the meetings would be for experience-sharing, training and learning for the staff.

He urged the officers to reach out to tax payers, educating and enlightening where necessary.

Anambra North Zonal Tax Authority, Mrs Chinwe Odua noted that although her zone could not meet up with the target given to them, the staff made efforts to get some tax payers to settle.

She pledged that they hope to make remarkable improvements by the second quarter.

All office performances were displayed on the projector and each staff was called upon to defend their monthly collections.

The staff that lagged behind were cautioned by the chairman.

They had appealed for provision of logistics, proper working environment and signage at each office for effective assessment and collection.

The Tax offices under Anambra North Senatorial zone include Atani, Fegge,  Federal Housing,  Government Reserved Area (GRA), Nteje, Okpoko 1, Omagba, Shoprite, Woliwo, Otuocha and Zonal Tax offices.

The next two days would be devoted to Anambra South and Anambra Central respectively and would continue in the same pattern for the remaining quarters of the year. (MOI)